Wednesday, 2 May 2012

SAMA18 Winners Predictions

Here are my winners’ predictions from the 18th South African Music Awards that happened this past Monday and weekend. I did very well:

Best Producer
Dan Roberts – Six Winters by Laurie Levine

Best Engineer
Johan van der Colff – Loliwe by Zahara

 Best Video of the Year

Ryan Peimer – It’s Magic by The Parlotones
 Best Live DVD

 Remix of the Year
DJ Sbu – Lengoma featuring Zahara
Best Alternative Album

The Dirty Skirts for Lost In The Fall

Best Kiddies Album

Wendy Oldfield for Singalong Kidz Volume 2

Best Smooth Urban Music Album

Zahara for Loliwe

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album

The Plain Truth – We Are The Shining Ones

Best Classical and Instrumental Album

CH2 for Ping

Best Collaboration

Zahara featuring Georgy for Incwad’Encane

Best Jazz Album

Jimmy Dludlu for Tonota

Best Pop Album

Lloyd Cele for One

Best African Adult Album

Zonke for Ina Ethe

Best Rock Album

Shadowclub for Guns and Money

Best Traditional Music Album

Soul Brothers for Amaphutha

Best Traditional Faith Music Album

Solly Mahlangu for Mwamba Mwamba

Best Street Urban Music Album

AKA for Altar Ego

Best Sokkie Dans Album

Snotkop for Ek Laaik Van Jol

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Elvis Blue for Elvis Blue (2CD Special Edition)

Best Maskandi Album

Thokozani Langa for I-Protection Order

Best Kwaito Album

Big Nuz for Pound for Pound

Best Dance Album

Mi Casa for Mi Casa Music

Special Award:  Best Selling Album

Loliwe by Zahara

Newcomer of the Year

Zahara for Loliwe

Duo/Group of the Year

Mi Casa for Mi Casa Music

Male Artist of the Year

AKA for Altar Ego

Female Artist of the Year

Zahara for Loliwe

Album of the Year

Loliwe by Zahara

 Special Awards:

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Ray Phiri and Vusi Mahlasela

 Best Selling True-Tone Download of the Year
Facebook by DJ Cleo

 Best Selling Ring-Back-Tone of the Year
Facebook by DJ Cleo

 Best Selling Full-Track Download of the Year
Loliwe by Zahara

 SAMPRA Most Played Song on South African Radio in 2011
Alone by Liquideep